Welcome to America's Education Guides

Enrollment Requirements

Under Florida law, parents must follow the document and immunization requirements listed below.

To enter kindergarten:

  • 5 years old on or before Sept. 1

To enter first grade:

  • 6 years old on or before Sept. 1 and successful completion of kindergarten.

Registration Requirements:

  1. Certified birth certificate (for kindergarten and first grade)
  2. Florida Certification of Immunization (Blue Form 680), completed by a Florida physician or by a Florida county health department.
  3. Certification of school entry health examination completed within one year of the date of enrollment
  4. Social Security Number
  5. Official documentation showing proof of legal residence of the school district attendance area.
  6. If student was enrolled in another school district, latest report card.

Immunization or exemption forms are available at physicians’ offices and public health departments.

Requirements to obtain Florida Certificate of Immunization:

  1. At least four doses of DTP (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis) vaccine with the last doses given on or after 4th birthday, otherwise, fifth dose needed
  2. At least 3 doses of polio vaccine with last dose given on or after 4th birthday, otherwise fourth dose needed
  3. MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) vaccine given on or after 1st birthday with a definite recorded date if the MMR vaccine was given before the first birthday or a definite recorded date is not listed for the MMR vaccine, revaccination is required. Kindergarten through 11th-grade students must present proof of two doses of measles vaccine, preferably MMR
  4. HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) vaccination for children under 5
  5. Varicella (chicken pox) vaccine unless child has documentation of history of varicella.

Immunization requirements for students entering, attending or transferring to 7th-12th grades:

  1. Second dose of measles vaccine, preferably MMR
  2. A recent tetanus diphtheria booster
  3. Hepatitis B vaccine series, three shots given over 4-to 6-month period.

Must begin school:

  • All children who will be 6 years old by Feb. 1

Must stay in school:

  • Until age 16.